166 Comments

    • HisR0yalFlyness
      March 12, 2013

      Love it! Pure joy!

    • Ryan
      March 12, 2013

      Reminds me of how he celebrated Villa’s goal in the 3-1 CL final vs. United. The guy just loves good goals!

      • barca96
        March 12, 2013

        And Messi’s 2nd goal and his celebration is really like the one in Wembley.

      • barca96
        March 12, 2013

        And did you guys notice Alba celebrating like Messi did in the pic after the final whistle? Beautiful moments.

      • Ryan
        March 12, 2013

        I thought that too! No kicking of microphones this time though. 🙂

      • nzm
        March 12, 2013

        And Villa’s goal celebration was like his celebration after one of his manita match goals vs. Madrid!

      • Jafri
        March 12, 2013

        That’s Villa’s celebration for his special goals 🙂

      • endico
        March 12, 2013

        When I saw his celebration I remembered Wembley 2011. it’s almost alike.

      • nzm
        March 13, 2013

        No – at Wembley, he went right and Xavi bowled him over. At Camp Nou for the manita win, he went left and slid like that.

        It was a special goal all right – you could just see it in his body and face that it exorcised a lot of demons for Villa.

  1. rocherto
    March 12, 2013

    Joining the party late. Had to close my ears and eyes after working all day. Caught a flight home and turned on the dvr.
    WOW!!!
    LOVE THIS TEAM!!
    This was another moment where I was down on my knees in the living room.
    So proud of these boys!!

  2. barca96
    March 12, 2013

    At times in the first half it looked like we played with 4 forwards.

    • Jafri
      March 12, 2013

      I think this was a 3-4-3 with Messi at the tip of a 4 man midfield diamond, Villa in the middle and Pedro and Alves on the wings, transitioning to that elusive 3-5-2 with Pedro/Alves on the wings and Villa and Messi the two centre forwards.

      Of course with Barca being Barca, it was also amoeba amoeba amoeba 😀

      • KEVINO17
        March 12, 2013

        Agree, and I like the slightly broken structure. The three at the back know they’ve got to defend (although Alba didn’t always get the message) and the other seven know they’ve got to go forward to shut down the play, instead of having two wing-backs who aren’t sure what they should be doing.

  3. cuqui
    March 12, 2013

    Jordi Roura calls Messi “magisterial”! Who knew he listened to Ray Hudson! http://gu.com/p/3ed4y/tw via @guardian

  4. Chiu
    March 12, 2013

    – Unbelievable! We made it! One of the most historical comeback in CL history against 7th times European Champion; AC Milan.

    – The first half was just wow. Beautiful! This is the real Barca that awe the world and add up lots of bandwagoners hehe. The aggresive pressing, rapid ball circulation and the player movemeent was excellent. Early goal from Messi really calm the team and we took absolute control on the game. Milan almost have no considerable threat, except that Niang run. We just showed up when it needed for the most important game of this season, thus far

    – For the quarters, I hope and we must do the rotation again in liga and “sacrifice” the two liga matches before quarter to rest the first team. We have luxury to do that with comfy cushion over RM; which I think they implicitly already giving their liga hope. They must be focussing all the energy on CL as well.

    Visca Barca!

    • KEVINO17
      March 12, 2013

      Barca is now in a wonderful position. The “reserve” team is probably the 2/3rd best team in the world. No reason they can’t play in the league, particularly now we have a huge advantage in the league. Time to put Xavi, Iniesta in a cryogenic chamber for a couple of weeks.
      My only two worries from this game were:
      Pedro – didn’t seem to add much; and
      Masc. I love his passing, but he does jump in a lot.

      Would love to see Alba, Adriano operating together on the left wing. Both can go forward, both can defend.

  5. deckardcain
    March 12, 2013

    I just love the way Pedro ignores celebrating the first goal and directly runs full-speed to the ball and rushes to the kick-off circle.

    The job isn’t done yet, let’s go.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehGrRUncSY8

    • March 12, 2013

      Yup, I loved that too! ” We need more goals, let’s gooooo!!!” 😀

      • deckardcain
        March 12, 2013

        A terrific example of the want in the team tonight!

  6. March 12, 2013

    I believed in this team, and my belief was not reduced by a defeat or three. These are the best players in the world even if their coach is physically so far away from them. If this doesn’t make people believe in and have faith in their players, I don’t know what will.

  7. K_legit in Oz
    March 12, 2013

    Jordi Alba! What a beast!

    Mascherano has his limitations in the aerial game but his reading of play and crossfield passes are an absolute delight!

    • KEVINO17
      March 12, 2013

      I see Roara said they played Masc because of his ability to reach the wings with his passing. It does make a huge difference.

  8. Chiu
    March 12, 2013

    – Our reaction to long ball pass from opposition should be taken into serious consideration for Tito,cs. Esp in the counter, our high line defense really got exposed. Exacerbated that we dont have height and speedy CB to recover or chase them. I realise this is the risk of the system like Barca. We play high line, and leave too much space between the last line and goalie. Am not sure what would be the solution. Am not blaming Masche either for that “isolated incident” of Niang run free; his height and anticipation to jump maybe a bit late or else. But that Milan chance almost cost us the expensive CL quater spot. I hope Tito could fix this soon.

    _ Villa in CF positioned really give Messi more space behind him. We saw the hesitation from Milan CB to move forward to heavy mark Messi because it would leave Villa in free space. Very good changes from Roura or Tito.Ini-Busi-Xavi also gave some lesson to Milan how to control the midfield; very crisp passing, movement and ball recovery (esp Busi)

    – The quarter final would offer many probability of big matches, even another classico. Lots of big teams ie Barca, Bayern, RM, Juve, Dortmund,PSG (big names). Just two “weaker teams” ie Galatasaray and Porto/Malaga (decided tonight). The likelihood we get draw a big team is high. Anyone hope for another classico? I personally dont mind for another classico :)Bayern, Juve and PSG are dominating their respective league. RM is recovering their top form gradually after lousy start. Dortmund not doing really good in Bundesliga, but the potential is still there. It would be an enjoyable quarter for neutrals. Just for pragmatic reason, Galatasaray or Porto/Malaga would be the best draw

    Visca Barca!

    • March 13, 2013

      mweh, you know RM is gonna get Galatasaray or Porto/Malaga, right?

      Although by writing this it probably makes it so that they draw us.

      Anyway, the review’s up y’all!

  9. endico
    March 13, 2013

    We qualified that’s incredible but we need to put things into perspective before we become overjoyed now and be disappointed again later.
    AC Milan was not considered a favorite to win this competition. They had a lifeline because we were lazy in the first leg. Yesterday we were able to win because they defended but when they were behind they came out and caused us some trouble.
    My point is Barca is not the favorite anymore. We have one of the weakest back-line among the remaining teams in CL. RM, Bayern, Juventus and Dortmund won’t have much trouble with our defense but as a fan I hope am wrong.

Comments are closed.