This Is Not A Preview, or, The Copa del Rey Prematch Comments Post

Hey! There’s some kind of match happening tomorrow, I hear! There might be a proper preview coming, but in the meantime you can post your thoughts here.

This being a cup final, Pep will want to play the strongest lineup possible. Unfortunately neither Puyol nor Dani Alves are available, so I suspect we will see this:


Montoya – Mascherano – Pique – Adriano

Xavi – Busquets – Iniesta

Fabregas – Messi – Pedro

Subs: I guarantee you Keita will get some game time. You can quote me on that. Alexis as well, and either Thiago or Cuenca depending on how the game goes.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Recent Posts

Written by:

Canadian, cule, corporate wage slave. Came late to the beautiful game, but fell under FCB's spell in 2006 and never looked back.


  1. Messiah10
    May 24, 2012


    Is Alexis hurt? Why wouldn’t he be starting?

    • May 24, 2012

      He has just today been passed fit to play after his last injury. I don’t know if Pep will want to risk starting him. Just my opinion.

      • Messiah10
        May 24, 2012

        I guess I didn’t catch that he just came back. I didn’t realize he was still gaining fitness from his last injury. Man, I hope he stays healthy next season. We can’t afford for him to be injured every other month like this season. I’m sure our physio’s are working on a individual fitness program like Messi.

  2. Messiah10
    May 24, 2012

    I think we’ll come to play tomorrow. Llorente & Martinez won’t be in the game b/c he’ll be thinking about his transfer rumors. Messi will have had plenty of rest and be ready to go. It’ll be nice to see a fully fit Xavi. I want to see him pushing forward and not dropping so deep tomorrow. I think he will be now he’s been off for so long. I’m excited! A Cup’s a Cup! We own the Copa. It’s ours for the taking!

    • May 24, 2012

      Whoever wins, I agree with what Pep said in his presser–both teams will be attacking and it will be a beautiful game to watch. Both teams want it desperately: Athletic Bilbao because they were so disappointing in the Europa League final and this is their last best chance at a trophy, and Barça because they will want to send Pep off on a high note, and because they just love winning.

      I can’t wait.

  3. mom4
    May 24, 2012

    Oh yeah…I remember…football…been so long…

    Think you got it right with the lineup. Then again, it’s Pep’s last chance to surprise us so VV as a CF wouldn’t shock me at all.

    • mom4
      May 24, 2012

      3:50 PM EST on ESPN3 and ESPN Deportes. I think TVE on Comcast may be showing it delayed.

  4. nia
    May 24, 2012

    I don’t think Cesc deserves to start this game. Maybe Thiago but Cesc, no.

    • May 24, 2012

      I don’t especially think he “deserves” it either based on recent performances, but I do think that Pep thinks he deserves it.

  5. hansh
    May 24, 2012

    Anybody else lost track of who’s injured and what their injuries are?

    • May 24, 2012

      Why, no. I remember every excruciating one. Thank you for reminding me.

    • mom4
      May 24, 2012

      Um we’ve got
      12 recovered hamstrings.
      11 once-tweeked ankles
      10 repaired knees
      9 with bad haircuts
      8 crocked shins
      7 needing shaves
      6 needing Juanjo
      5 Golden rings
      4 collar bones
      3 Achilles heels
      2 French livers
      and a beer…in a tree (Bob and Doug reference for Blitzen)

      • May 24, 2012

        6 needing Juanjo

        Loved this one! 😀

        (And for the record, Canadians drink beer in the bush, not in trees! :roll: )

        • mom4
          May 24, 2012

          Bob and Doug’s 12 Days of Christmas is a classic. Besides, forget the beer and let’s have manitas.

      • hansh
        May 24, 2012

        “9 with bad haircuts”

        Really mom4, only 9?

  6. Messiah10
    May 24, 2012

    I didn’t realize the pitch is only 3 days old b/c of having to re-sod after a Cold Play concert. It only gets worse. The Spanish FA are an embarrassment

    • mom4
      May 24, 2012

      The first pre-Euro friendly for Esp is Saturday. Yup, the day after. Esp are playing to retain their cup and the RFEF has them playing on a newly resurfaced field. I can only pray that there will be no injuries. Yes, RFEF seems to have forgotten that the bulk of their NT come from these two teams. Planning is everything.

  7. messifan
    May 24, 2012

    I agree with Blitzen’s lineup, but I would start Alexis over Pedro.

    Whatever we do, we must beware of Llorente’s head. That guy scores a lot of headers. Our problem is that Pique is the only tall defender we have, and we know that placing Busi in our penalty area is not a good idea 😀

    More importantly, We get to see Pep and Bielsa wearing suits. I’m going to miss Pep’s skinny ties so much!

    In all seriousness, I think it will be a beautiful game. I will be happy regardless of the final score, as long we stay to true to our style. To Pep’s last match.

    Visca el Barca

    • mom4
      May 24, 2012

      Alexis was just passed fit today and is made of glass. I’d be shocked if he started.

    • May 24, 2012

      Pep will start Pedro because it is his last chance to impress Del Bosque and earn himself a call-up for the Euros. I am 100% certain of this. Pep mentioned in a recent press conference that he thinks that he could have played Pedro more–I suspect he feels a bit guilty about it.

Leave a Reply